SLAM History

Ehalakasa SLAM (2014)


On 30th March We debuted our slam series in 2014. The initiative started with 12 slammers: Hondred Percent, Andy on Andy, Apiorkor, Chieff Moomen, D.K Osei Yaw, Harold Abbey, Koo Kumi, Kwame Write, Lauren Goodwin, Daniel Quist, Sedinam, Selorm Ameza.

Sir Black was the Slam Master. Bibie Brew blessed us with her presence as special guest and Paul ’D’ Dorian, the Abu-Dhabi based poet was the featured performer for the night.

The finalists for the March Slam were Chieff Moomen (1st), D.K Osei-Yaw (2nd) and Andy on Andy (3rd). Four other slams were held in the series to produce finalists to compete for the ultimate title: Ehalakasa Slam Champion 2014.

The next four slams (March, May, July and September) produced moments of pulsating spoken word lyricism. The following twelve poets (three winners from each of the four previous slams) duelled  it out on 30th November 2014.

Slammers: Slim One, Sedinam, Kwaku Rap, Nana Yirenkyi, Poetra Asantewaa, D.K Osei-Yaw, Hondred Percent, Ben-Tino, Andy, Dominic Wolali, Chief Moomen and Poet Pobee.

The finals saw Hondred Percent as the Ehalakasa Slam Champion 2014 with Chieff Moomen in second and Dominic Wolali in third.

Ehalakasa SLAM (2015)


Five poets challenged for a place in the Decemmber Finals in the first slam of the year on 31st May 2015. Three winners emerged – Elidior the Poet (Winner), Hondred Percent (1st Runner-up) and Emmanuel Akambo (2nd Runner-up).


26th July 2015 witnessed three more slammers qualify for the grand final of the Ehalakasa Slam Series. Natty Ogli, Akotowaa , and Slimo who qualified last month have joined Elidior the Poet, Hondred Percent , and Emmanuel Akambo who qualified in May this year.

Kwaku Rap, Nala Vybz and BB were the last slammers to join the finalists.

The final slam took place on December, 2015 with guest performance by Lyrical (UK) who will also premiere Reason ft. Ray Estaire.

Once again Hondred Percent came out the winner making a two time winner of the prestigious title. Elidior the Poet came in second followed by Slimo in third.